City of Atlantic Governance

The City of Atlantic is governed by a Mayor and seven Council Members – five of whom are elected from five established wards (geographical areas of the City representing roughly equivalent levels of population) and two members elected at large. The Mayor and Council Members are elected on a non-partisan basis.

The City Council meets on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at 5:30 p.m., in the Council Chambers at City Hall-23 East 4th Street. Council Work Sessions are held at 5:30 p.m. on the remaining Wednesdays, as needed.

Agendas for meetings and other public notices are regularly posted on bulletin boards at City Hall and on the City of Atlantic’s website.

In addition to the scheduled meetings, the City Council may convene special sessions or public hearings as required to address specific issues or matters of importance to the community. These sessions provide opportunities for residents to engage directly with their elected officials, voice concerns, and contribute to the decision-making process. By maintaining an accessible and transparent governance framework, the City of Atlantic aims to foster citizen involvement and ensure accountability in its administration.

Liaison Representatives

Liaison Representatives between Council and Boards and Commissions

  • Airport Commission
    Linda Hartkopf
  • Airport Tall Structure Ordinance Board
    Dana Halder & Linda Hartkopf
  • Atlantic Fire Department
    Jim Behrens
  • Atlantic Municipal Utility Board of Trustees
    Lee Sisco
  • Board of Adjustment
    Linda Hartkopf
  • Cass/Atlantic Development Corporation
    Gerald Brink & Grace Garrett
  • Cass County Environmental Agency
    Pat McCurdy & Dana Halder
  • Cass County Public Safety Commission
    Jim Behrens & Lee Sisco
  • Chamber of Commerce
    Elaine Otte
  • Community Promotion Commission
    Gerald Brink & Grace Garrett
  • Community Protection
    Lee Sisco, Jim Behrens & Gerald Brink
  • Library Board
    Dana Halder
  • Parks & Recreation Board
    Gerald Brink
  • Personnel & Finance
    Elaine Otte, Pat McCurdy & Grace Garrett
  • Planning & Zoning Commission
    Lee Sisco
  • Site & New Business Task Force
    Pat McCurdy & Grace Garrett
  • YMCA
    Linda Hartkopf
Mayor & City Council

Mayor: Grace Garrett
First Ward: Jim Behrens
Second Ward: Lee Sisco
Third Ward: Pat McCurdy
Fourth Ward: Linda Hartkopf
Fifth Ward: Dana Halder
At Large: Elaine Otte
At Large: Gerald Brink